top of page

Tue, May 28

|

Microsoft Teams

FARIAtalks: Emerging Solutions for Empathic Service Design

Tuesday, May 28, 9.00-11.00 a.m. (PDT), 12.00-2.00 p.m. (EDT), 7.00-9.00 p.m. (EEST) Curious about empathy in service design? This online workshop dives into how to enhance and create empathy through digital solutions in different industries.

FARIAtalks: Emerging Solutions for Empathic Service Design
FARIAtalks: Emerging Solutions for Empathic Service Design

Time & Location

May 28, 2024, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM GMT+3

Microsoft Teams

Guests

About the event

Tuesday, May 28, 9.00-11.00 a.m. (PDT), 12.00-2.00 p.m. (EDT), 7.00-9.00 p.m. (EEST)

About the event:

Building on the success of the virtual workshop on March 2023 on processing of emotions by AI, where participants have also discussed key importance of empathy in human – AI industry, FARIA and the University of Lapland continue to explore the role of empathy and human-centered approach, this time in the service design field.

We invite all interested parties from academy and industry to join our interdisciplinary virtual workshop organized by the FARIA network and the Empathy Business project by the University of Lapland. The Empathy Business project is funded by the Business Finland, and it aims to identify,

experiment and evaluate digitals solutions and tools for service design and business prototyping through creativity.

In this workshop, our speakers will share their company/lab cases and thoughts on how to enhance and create empathy through digital solutions in service design in different industries. The value of empathy lies in the building trust and understanding between employees and the service users. In addition, the workshop aims to initiate lively discussions on digital solutions such as VR, AR, and AI technologies in service prototyping utilizing strengths of creative industries. We hope that our multidisciplinary discussion of the current challenges in the field will be fruitful and inspirational and promote potential collaboration opportunities for participants.

Program

  • Welcome and FARIA introduction
  • Satu Miettinen (University of Lapland, Finland) Strategic Leadership and Foresight Through Service Design
  • Erica Eden (Citizen Collab, USA) Culture Led Innovation: How tapping into distinct cultural currents amplifies product resonance
  • Sheng-Hung Lee (MIT, USA) Design for Longevity: An Empathic Service Design Framework
  • Tuuli Mattelmäki (Aalto University, Finland) Empathic design as transformative creative practice
  • Ella Björn and Nam Kiwoong (University of Lapland, Finland), Empathic and Creative Methods for Business
  • Mariluz Soto (Universidad del Desarrollo, Chile) Empathy and Emotions in Service Design
  • General discussion and wrap up

Share this event

bottom of page